Teesport Grand Prix

Paul Drinkhall, the England number 1, won the Mens Single title at the Teessport Newcastle Grand Prix held at Eldon Leisure. After winning his group he accounted for Colin Dalgleish and Chris Main, both from Scotland, then another Scot, Richard Main in the semis to set up another England v Scotland affair in the final. Scotland’s top player Gavin Rumgay had come through the other half of the draw but he was no match for Drinkhall in the final.

Joanna Parker, recently elevated to number one in the English rankings duly took the Womens title by beating Melissa Wright of Avon in the final. Wright had taken advantage of the absence of the number two seed Hannah Hicks who withdrew because of illness to get to the final but she did cause an upset by beating the number three seed, Karina Le Fevre of Cleveland. The under 21 Mens title went to Ireland’s Ashley Robinson with the Under 21 Womens event being won by Wright who again did well to beat the favourite Yolanda King.

Cheshire’s Tomasz Rzeszotko defeated Scotland’s Gerry Campbell in the final of the Veterans singles.

The best performance of the week end by a local player came when young Akshay Pabary  got through to the final of the Band 6 Singles with victories over Noor Owadally(Middlesex), Shaun Ellis(Yorkshire) and Ian Johnston(Scotland) before losing out to Adam Harrison of Lincolnshire who was also the Band 5 winner.