Press release

Three of the teams to reach the quarter finals of the Northumbria League Handicap Cup had to come from behind to get there.  Two sets from Nigel Tree and one each from Keith Hodges and Dave Swan put Matfen Tribunes 4 – 2 ahead against Cramlington Cobras before the visitors hit back when Alan Hedley beat Swan, Joe Hastings levelled things up with a victory over Hodges and Steve Ralph won the match for the Cobras by beating Nigel Tree.

The Cramlington Trojans side who were 3 – 1 behind away to Ouston B, pulled back to three all  before David Byers completed his hat trick to put Ouston back in front. However Alistair and Jack Cairns won the final two sets for the Trojans.

The third one was another Cramlington side, the Jaguars, who lost their first two matches to Newton B team’s John Henderson and Tom Manuel but two sets each by Abdel Warayet and Gavin Wilson and one by Mick Sursham gave them victory.

Mark Kimberley and Rob Lawson both won two for Tyneside TTC A team and with Steve Dickinson getting one they defeated Saints, for whom Ray Joynson got two, by five sets to three.

Dan Dodds and Bailey Pye won two sets each and with one from Alan Livingstone, The Mount B team beat Brandon Anacondas 5 – 3.  Brandon’s Bravehearts side also went out when  Mark O’Connor and Andrew Firth got two each and  Tom Firth one to give Prudhoe and District United Services Club a 5 – 3 victory.

Ouston’s D team lost to Cramlingon Falcons 7 – 2 with Alfie Stokes unbeaten for the winners and unfortunately Ouston C had to concede to Matfen Senators because of injuries to their players.

Only a few league matches were played but Matfen Whitley Chapel visited Cramlington two nights running. They beat the Cobras 7 – 3 but lost by the same score to the Spartans and both teams are level on points at the top of the third division but the Spartans have a game in hand.


KO HANDICAP CUP 2018 – 2019:  Results for Round 3 

Home teamAway team
1Matfen Senators9Ouston C0 *
 2Cramlington Jaguars5Newton B4
 3Cramlington Falcons7Ouston D2
4Brandon Anacondas3Mount B5
5Brandon Bravehearts1Prudhoe5
6Tyneside A5Whickham Saints3
7Ouston B4Cramlington Trojans5
8Matfen Tribunes4Cramlington Cobras5
  • Conceded